July 30, 2013

  • Report # 1027

    So this could be my final post on Xanga as I´m really not sure what will happen after July 31. I want to thank everyone for all of the amazing comments in the last 8 and a half years, as I really appreciated everyone…. even the few that were highly critical ! I don’t think I had any idea when I started on here back in February 2005 that I’d still be having the same blog in the summer of 2013. I really haven’t ever devoted myself to something for this long before. So it will certainly be different in a few days if I try to log-in to Xanga and my site and everything I’ve posted since the beginning is all gone. Of course I have no idea what things will be like in a few days, but I will certainly come back on August 2 to see if I’m able to post anything…. if not I’ll accept that things have changed and just continue on with my life !

    I’ve said before, but I have absolutely no intention of starting another blog. If Xanga goes down then I will go down with the ship too ! I will continue taking pictures and uploading them to Facebook, and posting the odd short message, but it would be nothing like I’ve been doing on Xanga for the last eight and a half years. I just could not get myself to start something new from sratch again after all of this time. I mean this is my 1027th post…. I can’t really start somewhere new and say it’s # 1028 ! I am kind of hoping that Xanga will find a way to continue and none of the old blogs get deleted, but if Xanga does continue on, yet deletes all of what I have posted, or doesn’t allow me to continue on the exact same site, well that too would mean good-bye from here.

    So whatever comes I guess I’m ready, though it will certainly be a little sad if I won’t be continuing with something I’ve done every 3 days for the last eight and a half years. It would certainly be an adjustment for me, and aside than having a little more time, it probably wouldn’t be super beneficial for me to lose all of this. However I accept what comes, and once again I’d like to thank everyone so much for all of their comments and advice over the years and giving me some very interesting blogs to read as well. I can say I definitely learned a lot ! Most people have already added me to Facebook so it’s not like I’ll be losing touch with everyone, it will just be different without Xanga being around.

    Of course I’m still speculating as no one really knows what will happen come August, but I will certainly find out in a few days ! I spoke about saving some time, but the truth is the last 10 days have been incredibly boring as I just haven’t had anything to do really. It’s now been one week since I got all of the forms filled out and sent in to the migration place, so I’m thinking within two weeks I should have a response. I hope so as I really need to start working and making some money…. I’ve had way too many vacation days. Over the last few days I was running 15 laps each evening around the park where I was staying: it was a small park so I could go around many times. I had lunch on Saturday at Super Salads and then I stopped at Starbucks in the evening, and on Sunday I just went up to Carls Jr.

    Since I saw the new Wolverine movie, I started watching some of the other Xmen movie. I saw the first Xmen movie as well as X2 seeing as I had never seen either of them before ! I remember seeing the third Xmen movie in the theatres, but that was like seven years ago, so maybe I’ll watch it again. Yesterday I saw my friend Gaby who I hadn’t seen since March. We had lunch at a Sushi restaurant and we stayed in there and talked for like four hours. We had some dessert before leaving and sitting out in the park. This park is a lot bigger than the one I had been running around, so it will be a better park for running, though I’ll definitely miss going to Fundidora everyday like before.

    I finally was able to move into the apartment yesterday evening. It’s a nice and very modern place, so I will like living there. The other girl signed everything, so I don’t know if that’s a good thing that I signed absolutely nothing or not, but I didn’t sign anything. I was able to get all of my clothes put away, emptying my suitcase, so now at least I can feel like I’m not living out of my luggage and I can get settled. Unfortunately when moving to a new place, there really is nothing and a person has to start all over. I’ll have to buy some things today, and there is no internet yet as well, so these things will take some time. I’m typing this up in some internet cafe place up the road, but I am hoping to have internet there soon. I will actually be going to Fundidora today and seeing Deyla, who I haven’t seen since we had dinner about 10 days ago.

    So basically I’m just waiting to get the visa and start working, though it will take a little more time yet. I had a few more pictures to upload, but seeing as I’m not on my computer, I won’t be able to do that. If my site still exists in three days, I certainly will upload them. So for the final time, many thanks to absolutely everyone, and if this is good-bye I’ll certainly miss coming here and communicating with you all, but if not I will certainly be back in three days. I’d kind of prefer to know what on earth is happening, but I guess life is full of surprises. I wish everyone all of the best with everything and of course happiness more than anything ! Good-bye for now !

Comments (4)

  • I hope xanga can do something with the almost 50k we raised! Thank you for all you have said to me in the past few years. You had to have been one of my top commenters as well lol. We’re not facebook friends and though it won’t be the same at all, I’d love to keep in some sort of contact. It’d be nice to know how you’re making out with your new life in Mexico! If you’d like to, send me a request (http://facebook.com/jen.duong.5) I’d be happy to see that!Well, glad things are slowly coming together. I wish you nothing but the best.

  • glad to know you’ve moved into your new place. look forward to follow your progress in mexico on facebook. hope they speed things up on your work visa. as for me, i’ve moved on to wordpress, but secretly still hoping for xanga to live on.

  • Glad you finally got into the apt. I sure hope it works out for you. I just read that Xanga has a reprieve until the end of August now. They changed their goal to $50,000 but still want to get to $60,000.

  • It’s great that you’re getting settled in. I hate living out of a suitcase too. Seems like Xanga will go on through August at least- that good news!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *