February 27, 2013

  • Report # 976

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having a great week so far. I haven’t done too much of anything over the last few days as I’ve just been running each day, getting something to eat, and watching tons of movies. I’ve seen the Amazing Spiderman, Red Riding Hood, The Loved Ones, Piranha at home, and I went to see Les Miserables in theatre on Monday.

    I never thought that it was a musical and I just thought it was going to be a story based on the book, but it was nothing but a very, very, very long musical, so I couldn’t really appreciate the movie too much. What can I say ? I’m just not a fan of musicals. If it’s like a live play I suppose it would be more entertaining, but I just can’t get into watching a musical at the movie theatre.

    After coming home and having a shower on Sunday, I headed out for lunch and went to VIPS shortly after. I just had some tortilla soup and a hawaiian hamburger… and a piece of chocolate cake too. I will go back again tomorrow as I will get a 50 % discount so it would be stupid to waste that. After watching the movie in the theatre on Monday I just had something to eat in the food court, fish and vegetables, so at least I ate somewhat healthy. Though the two donuts from Krispy Kreme probably canceled that out later !

    Yesterday was a very dull day as I just went for the run, walked up to Super Salads and spent the whole day at home. After spending these dull days I know that I’ve made the right decision to head home super soon. I’ll be ready to come back if I get the answer I want, and then I’d be working and have so much less free time, but for now it’s just plain boring.

    The guy who lives in the house here told me that he talked with his wife and they like having me here and I could pay just 1,000 pesos (80 dollars) a month to hold the place while I go back to Vancouver, and while I said I would think about it, I know that my mind is made up. Ultimately I have no idea how long it will take to have a resolution with the visa authorization, or even if I’ll get the answer I want. And on top of all that I would still want to find an apartment type place, so I just don’t have any plans to keep staying where I’m at.

    Today I just wanted to share a comment from Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke. Here is the article by David Brown of yahoo sports: http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/mlb-big-league-stew/zack-greinke-could-play-worst-team-paid-most-163824712–mlb.html

    He signed a contract worth well over 150 million dollars over the next six years with this team during the summer so I mean this guy will not be short for cash for a while. Though with the stupid spending habits of a lot of these professional athletes really who knows !

    As the author of this article alludes to. in a lot of these contract negotiations, players will usually say how money is not the most important thing, and finding a place that will be a great fit for them and ultimately a place where they can win are primary, but in Mr. Greinke’s situation that doesn’t appear to be the case. Referring to the issue of money when he was looking for a team to sign with, Mr. Greinke had this to say:

    “It’s obviously the number one thing. I could play for the worst team if they paid the most. If the last place team offers $ 200 million and the first place team offers $ 10, I’m going to go for the $ 200 million no matter what team it was.”

    Now the writer makes the obvious point that no team offered Mr. Greinke the $ 10 a year or anything close to that. Obviously this guy would have made millions a year no matter what team he signed with, so on a number of levels his quote was incredibly stupid. I suppose we should commend Mr. Greinke for his honesty, at least he’s not coming out and lying that money is not important when it clearly is, but I have to wonder where his head is.

    I would think most professional athletes want to win, and they want to be a part of a winning team. As I said above, he would have made millions a year no matter what team signed him, and the difference between the offers on the table would not be that significant. There comes a point… how many more millions of dollars does this guy want ?

    Being on the worst team in the league would be pretty hard after a while I think for a lot of players. Making millions of dollars a year can’t take the sting out of losing so many games, or looking so bad in front of all of the people watching. And no doubt a great pitcher wouldn’t look so great on a team that was so bad. And while Mr. Greinke is a capable pitcher, he’s certainly yet to show that he’s an amazing pitcher. He’s had a couple of great seasons, but looking at his statistics and he hasn’t shown anything too amazing.

    Basically I think Mr. Greinke is just another example of an extremely greedy and selfish athlete, and reading his quote just makes it seem he’s not even playing for the right reasons. He doesn’t seem to care about winning too much, but about how much more money he can pocket. So I hope he fizzles out this season and fails to provide the Dodgers with a good return on their investment… it would just be fun to see someone of great selfishness fall flat on their face !

    For the next question:

    What do you think about the comments made by Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke ?

    I will leave you all with some pictures from Houston. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Saturday, bye for now.

    Sources: Zack Greinke: ‘I could play for the worst team if they paid the most.’ By David Brown. Yahoo sports MLB. February 26, 2013.

Comments (5)

  • Hey Kyle. Like always I enjoy reading your blog and reading your comments. You’re the 1st guy that I’ve seen blog and I like how you comment too.

    Ive seen Amazing Spiderman but not Red Riding Hood, The Loved Ones, Piranha at home, or Les Miserables. I know I want to see “Safe Haven”. as well as silver lining playbook and warm bodies. have you seen any of those?

    not sure what comments you’re talking about LOL

    hope your hump day was great and hope the rest of the week is too and happy weekend.

  • Wow, you got to see a lot of movies. Great you enjoyed them.

    Musical movies never really interested me, either. I have a friend who plays in musicals locally and I find them very interesting.

    The food sounds amazing, as always. I could never turn down a 50% discount.

    That’s a great deal to hold your apartment while you’re gone, but I wouldn’t be sure what to do. If you do return and they have a room, I think you’d get it no problem. Hope you hear soon, though!

  • unfortunately, i’m not a fan of baseball so i don’t now anything about the sport. but i too can’t respect him for the comment he made. i mean, seriously. to say that in public, how would the team think of him now? most importantly, what team would want him?

  • Lis Mis, has to be one of ref best musicals I have ever seen. It is such a beautiful story in it’s self but to add music adds a whole new level of emotion. I think I would have to respect him. But I am not very up-to-date on baseball. Try Silver Linings Playbook, I hear it is good!

  • shouldn’t baseball players play baseball for their love of the game and not about the salary? it is a classic game ..

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *