February 24, 2013

  • Report # 975

    So I’ve decided to head home a little faster than originally planned. I was going to wait around here for another month or so, but after thinking about it, there really is no point. I’ve done everything that I could do here and all that is left to do for the visa authorization is to wait, so I have decided that I will not pay to stay another month here and I’ll head home sometime around the time that I’m paid up until to be here….. March 7.

    This will make sense as if I pay to stay here another month, up until April 7, it would just be a waste of money as there is nothing more I can do here, and besides if I get news about the visa authorization I would be flying home suddenly anyways. On top of all that, this is not a place that would be suitable to stay long term. If I’ll actually be living here and working here, it will make more sense to have an apartment type place instead of just renting out a room.

    Not only would it be too expensive to be eating out every single day in the restaurants, it wouldn’t really work for me staying here anways as it’s a shared bathroom and if the other guy would be getting ready for work every morning, and I work at around the same hours, it wouldn’t work out so well. It’s been a great place in terms of location and having laundry and internet, but for living here long term I will just need something a bit different. It might be challenging to find, but I will have to cross that bridge when and if it comes.

    My grandmother said I could use her air miles to fly home, but from what I’ve seen they don’t really have any options with air miles flying home from Mexico, so that might not work. It might be easiest to go to Mexico City as they always have direct flights to Vancouver from there and it would be a much nicer trip home than going through the US and another airport or two on the way back. So I’ll definitely have a bit of research to do in the next week as I’ll have to figure out when and how I’ll be getting home.

    It will be a bit bittersweet heading home. Obviously after being gone so long it will be great to see everyone and go to Tim Hortons again, but after putting so much time and effort into this working in Mexico thing, I really did want to have the authorization before coming home, and unless i happens sometime this coming week, I will be going home before hearing the news I wanted to hear. I suppose it really doesn’t matter as I wouldn’t be able to change anything, but I would really hate to fail after everything I’ve done. About all I can do now is just be patient and positive.

    I had a very lazy day on Thursday as I just walked up to Super Salads to pick up some lunch and then just stayed home the rest of the day. I watched the Pursuit of Happiness, which was cool as it was a movie I had wanted to see for a number of years but never had gotten the chance. I went for a quick walk in the evening to get some fresh air and that was really about it. On Friday I headed to Fundidora Park and went for my first run in 12 days. After spending a week in Texas and still getting over the flu, it had been a while since my last run.

    I still had a bit of a cough, but not bad enough to put off running for another day, so I forced myself to go and I think I did alright. I was a few minutes slower than usual, but that’s ok as I still ran the whole thing without stopping like usual. Afterwards I came home and had a shower and headed out to CinĂ©polis to see Beautiful Creatures which was another one of those fantasy romance action movies, but it was pretty cool.

    I had lunch at Wok afterwards, enjoying lots of good sushi, and then just headed home and had a relaxing evening. I ran again on Saturday morning, and once again came home, had a shower, and walked to the Galerias mall to go to CinĂ©polis and watch a movie. This time I watched the Silver Linings Playbook, and it was like a romantic comedy about two very screwed up people, so it was very interesting for me to see. It’s always nice to see people out there with more problems than myself…… ok I’m just kidding but it’s good to know I’m not alone with problems in this world.

    After the movie I just grabbed something to eat from Wendy’s, and then headed home. I really, really, really have to start eating healthier. All of my running may be able to hide my horrible eating habits, but I know it’s not doing my health any benefits, so that’s another reason why if and when I get work visa and get back here I find a place with kitchen and actually take time to make some food and eat more fruits and vegetables. I know I can do it, I just have to prove that I can in the future !

    In the evening I watched the James Bond movie The World is Not Enough. I had been thinking about it for some reason and thought that since I only saw the movie once back in 2000 it was time to see it again. I always say how I hate watching a movie a second time, but after so many years pass I actually like seeing a movie that I enjoyed years ago a second time, but it has to be a long time…. not necessarily 13 years, but probably closer to 10 than five !

    I’ve already been for my run this morning and I’ll probably just buy a paper and head to VIPS and have lunch in a bit to have a relaxing afternoon. Today actually marks my eighth anniversary here on Xanga, as I started my site on February 24, 2005. It’s hard to believe so much time has passed, and I was so young….. just 19. Now I’m 27 and feel so old…. how times change. If I was a politician I suppose this would be the time to end my term and walk away if I was to term limit myself, but there are no real rules on Xanga.

    I will have my 1,000 entry in less than three months so at the very least I have to hang on for that. I have mused in the past about maybe stopping sometime after my 1,000th entry, but I really don’t know. For eight years I’ve managed a perfect posting schedule, posting exactly every three days no matter what…. I don’t think too many people have been that strict and crazy with their blogs. Whether I’ve been in Canada, US, Mexico, depressed, super busy, without much motives to write…. I’ve still managed to keep up my streak, so that I am proud of.

    Of course nothing lasts forever though, so there will be a time this will come to end but I don’t know exactly when. I at least would say something in advance though…. not like those crazy people who just suddenly shut down their sites and disappear from the face of the earth. Nor would I shut this down and open up another one….. like some people have done….. well some people probably are on their third by now ! This is what I have had for eight years, and this is what I will continue to have, there will be no more after this that’s for sure !

    Anyways, thanks to everyone for reading and leaving such cool comments over the years, I do appreciate them ! For the next question:

    Have you ever thought about how long you plan on blogging for ? Is it something that you could see yourself doing for your whole life, or do you think there will be a time you are ready to move on from Xanga and blogging in general ?

    I will leave you all with some pictures I took from Austin Texas. Some of them are from the Texas capital building, and others are from the University of Texas campus. I wish everyone all of the best with everything. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Wednesday, bye for now.

Comments (6)

  • To answer the blogging question I had this xanga since I was in 10th grade (2002) and I think I can see myself blogging until I get married.

  • Happy anniversary! I’ve been on here a long time too. There are times where I’m just too busy to get on here or I just lose interest in posting. I always come back though. I probably will continue to do so, as long as it stays free and the personal interactions are interesting.

  • Im not sure how long I’ve been on here but i go bk from here and post more on blogger. not everyone has blogger I know so i need to update xanga. I always look forward to your comments. b/c they are never just 1 word or 1 sentence like most people do. they are always thought out and long and i like comments like that. hope your weekend was great. great pics by the way. i’m guessing your trip was fun.

  • Happy Anniversary! I have been here for awhile. I take breaks but I never really leave. I always return. I have watched myself grow with my blog. I like that…

  • I am glad you have decided to go home.

  • I’m sorry it’s taking forever to hear about the visa. It would be nice to know whether or not it worked out before you go home, but you’re right. You just have to be patient. You’ll hear.. God knows when! I’d be disappointed and a bit irritated. You worked so hard to get to Mexico.

    I saw The Pursuit of Happiness. Very good movie and cool Will Smith’s son was in it.

    That’s crazy you have been on xanga for so long. I know people who have been on here for over a decade! I’m almost at 3 years. You do update a lot and it’s nice; you can look back when you’re much older. It’s upsetting when people disappear out of nowhere. I was reading old entries of mine and was reminded of some pretty close friends.. I guess more so commenters.. I wonder why and how they left without a word.

    I’m not sure how long I’ll be posting. I am pretty sure I’ll stick around to read people’s posts. Just by their blogs, I feel close in a way because I know their lives basically.

    You being one of them. Don’t leave!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *