July 12, 2013

  • Report # 1021

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having an amazing week. On Tuesday I went with my aunt to Ralph Klein park, which was way out in the south part of Calgary, but was definitely worth a visit. I was expecting just a small city park surrounded by houses, but it was actually home to a water conservation facility and the largest man-made wetland in the country, so it was a very cool place to visit. We also had made a stop at Tom Campbell’s Hill and the Calgary animal shelter to drop up some cat food. On the way home we picked up Iced Cappuccinos from Tim Hortons and we had some home made hamburgers for dinner. In the evening I went downtown to Olympic Plaza and I met my friend Gheraldine, who is from Venezuela but has been living in Calgary for just over three years.

    I had actually known her for just over two years, but this was the first time I was able to make plans to actually see her while I was in Calgary, so it was very nice. We just sat and talked on a bench for a couple of hours, but we certainly witnessed some interesting things. A guy was fighting another guy and then some security guys came in who called in the police, and when the police officer was trying to take a guy down, that guy was resisting and fighting back. Eventually there were around five or six police officers and they were all talking for the next hour with the guy. Surprisingly though he was not actually arrested, but just given a ticket. I realize that not all of these idiots causing these problems can be thrown in jail cells, but when He was actually fighting the police officer, I would have thought that would have been enough to get him arrested !

    I left to head home just after 10:00 pm, and I just took the bus back to my grandmother’s house, which was pretty simple. The next day I ran around the golf course twice, once in each direction, so I definitely got my exercise before leaving Calgary. It was a very warm day as well, 29 C. (84 F) While I was packing my suitcase I noticed that the running shoes that I had bought still had the anti-theft ink cartridge attached to them. The sales lady must have just scanned the barcode on the box and not even looked inside. Luckily we had time before my plane was to leave, so thankfully my aunt drove back to Sears and was able to get it removed. I am glad I noticed it then and not after I got home !

    We were certainly in no hurry to get to the airport as the plane was delayed by one hour and 17 minutes, and after arriving at the airport it was delayed another 15 minutes. My aunt drove me and I checked-in and I had a good hour and a bit to kill. The internet where I was sitting wouldn’t really work, so I just sat doing nothing for that hour. Finally we boarded before 5:30 pm Calgary time, and the plane got in at the Abbotsford Airport at around 6:00 pm. After getting my bags I headed outside and found my grandmother who was with her friend and we drove to White Spot to have dinner. After dinner she drove me home and I unpacked my suitcase…. though I’ll be packing it again for Mexico later today or tomorrow morning.

    I had a great time in Calgary with my aunt and grandmother and I’m very glad that I was able to make it out before going to Mexico. I always love being there and the city is definitely like a second home for me…. Monterrey can be like a third home ! Since I’ve arrive back home I’ve ran to Tim Hortons both days, and yesterday I also went for a good run with Parker. I’ll definitely miss the pets as it’s a big adjustment going from being around five pets to none. And of course I’ll miss the whole family and the city as well. There are a lot of things here that I’m very comfortable with, but after all of this time waiting for something to happen and it finally happening, it is time for me to go back to Mexico and start this new adventure.

    I am not worried about being there in Monterrey and living, as I’ve already been on my own in Mexico for six months, but working will be something very different. I’ve never worked in another country before, and I’ve never done this type of work before either, so it will certainly be a challenge. In all of my jobs though I’ve been liked and I’ve got good reference letters from them all pretty much, so I am hoping if I do my best like I always do, then everything will work out just fine. I will be arriving in Mexico City tomorrow night, and then I’ll be taking a bus to Puebla. I’ll be spending a couple of days in Puebla, and I’ll be arriving in Monterrey on the night of the 17th…. next Thursday.

    I have a friend who has been looking at places for me to stay, and I’ve been looking for places to stay as well. I found some great ones that had pretty much all of the things I needed, but some of the postings were kind of old, so I doubt all of them would still be available. I could stay with my friend Arturo for a bit if I don’t have a place by the night I arrive in Monterrey, but I’m really hoping I will as it’s something I think I will need before going to the immigration offices, as I will have to give the people there an address for myself. And seeing as I have to go to the office within 30 days of being in Mexico, it’s something very important, and I’d prefer to get that done sooner than later.

    I’m not exactly sure once I go to the migration offices if I’ll get the visa that very day, or if it takes a bit of time, but I’d then be calling the lady from Teleperformance so she could set me up with a training group so I would hope to begin working one day very soon as well. So this next week will be extremely busy, but I’m ready for these challenges and to get everything started there. It will no doubt be a new opportunity, a bit scary but exciting as well. I’m hoping as long as I do everything that I need to do, that everything will work out. For the rest of the day I’ll just be relaxing and home and enjoying the last full day I have here, as I have no idea when I will be back.

    That’s all for today, for the next question:

    What was the last big challenge or change you faced in your life ? How did it work out ? Do you anticipate any challenges or changes to your life in the near future ? What are they ?

    I will leave you all with some more pictures from Vancouver, and I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Monday from Mexico, bye for now.

     

Comments (2)

  • My next challenge will come when school starts in the fall. Julian has to be in his classroom by 8 am. None of us are morning people; even the baby sleeps in. The school is 20 minutes away and we have to allow 10 minutes for car line. It’s going to be a challenge to get myself up & dressed, get the baby nursed and clothed, get Julian dressed and fed as well, and get there in time. Best of luck as you make your final preparations and start your return to Monterrey!

  • The places you went to see in Calgary sounded cool, especially the first park.I’d imagine fighting with a police officer would send you right to prison, but when you think about it… A fine or whatever makes more sense and seems more suitable.Time with your aunt and grandma sounded wonderful. Good you got to spend a few days with them!Good luck in Mexico. You sure have a lot to look forward to. I wish you the best with finding a place. Lucky you have Arturo as a back up. He is a very good, and fun, friend for what you’ve written about him.Have a safe trip!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *