June 27, 2013

  • Report # 1016
     
    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having an awesome week so far. On Monday morning I left the house around 10:15 am to head to downtown Vancouver and pick up my passport and visa from the Mexican consulate. It was a good thing that I brought my umbrella as it was absolutely pouring at times. Pretty much as soon as I got into the Mexican consulate office, a lady noticed that I had come in, and she went to get my passport immediately.
     
    I don’t actually have the actual visa yet, but I have a page of my passport completely covered with a card with my photo saying “Mexico Visa.” I’ve now done everything that I can do here in Vancouver, and the next, and I hope final step, will be to go to the migration offices in Monterrey and show my passport and visa card and pay another fee, and to finally get the actual visa. I’m not sure if I would get it that day, or if it would take a few days, but that’s ok as I’ll have lots to do once I’m in Monterrey.
     
    I’ve been in communication with the lady from Teleperformance, and originally I asked her to talk with the other department to figure out what day I could start. I finally realized that since I don’t know exactly when I’ll be in Monterrey and how long it will take me to get set-up, that it would be easier for me to call her once I’m in the city, and then the company can set me up with a training group, which from what they told me, they have almost every week.
     
    So today I got an email from the lady from the company and she said it would be just fine if I let her know when I’m in the city, so she can set me up with a training group and I can begin to start working. I’ve worked at my current job the last two days from 8:30 am until 5:00 pm, and I have two days to go, with Friday officially being my last day. After Friday I will probably see about going to Calgary to visit my aunt and grandmother, and then I would come home within a week, and get set to go to Mexico a few days after that.
     
    I think I’ll be flying into Mexico City again as it is just much nicer to get a direct flight then having to stop in Texas and wait around for a few hours. I would probably spend a day or two in Mexico City, and then get to Monterrey and head to the migration offices ASAP to do what I have to do to finish off the process, finally get the actual visa, and begin to work. So things continue to move around, though I definitely have a lot of stuff to figure out in the coming days and weeks.
     
    After picking up my passport, I took the Skytrain to Central City Mall, and I met my grandmother and we had lunch at Rickys. After lunch she drove me home, and she picked me up later as we went to Colossus to see Man of Steel. It was a very entertaining movie, definitely with tons of action and explosions. My grandmother was telling me how much more explosions and action there was in comparison to the Super Man movies of the 1980′s.
     
    I’ve actually never seen those movies before, but I’ll certainly have to check them out. I haven’t even seen the other new Superman movie from 2006, so I really don’t know much about Superman movies. The weather has been pretty interesting over the last few days. It’s been a mix from super wet and cool weather, to very warm and sunny weather, with complete down pours, and even some lightning and thunder at night. From what they were saying before, it will get warm and sunny for the Canada Day long weekend, so that will be great !
     
    Anyways I won’t really get into any topics today as I’ve typed up enough, so for the next question:
     
    What is your favourite super hero movie ?
     
    I wish everyone all of the best with everything. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Sunday, bye for now.

Comments (5)

  • probably the avengers :)
    Have fun in Mexico

  • That’s awesome that you’re finally going to Mexico! If Xanga won’t be around, how will I see pictures of your new adventure/home?

  • i can’t believe you have to go to two separate places for getting a single visa. talk about efficiency.

  • Good for you almost done with the visa process. Finally. I wish you luck with everything.

    I have heard that Man of Steel was good.

    The weather has gotten crazy here too. Last night, we had a terrible thunderstorm. The sky was black all day with clouds. Today, I think it will be hot and dry. I’m not sure how the weather will be for the fourth of July here. Hopefully clear!

  • So exciting that things are lining up for your return to Mexico.
    I really like the Batman movie with Michael Keaton as Batman. It’s old, but there’s something about it that I just love.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *