June 6, 2013

  • Report # 1009

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having an awesome week. I’ve worked Monday through Wednesday from 8:30 am until 5:00 pm, and I’ve basically just stopped from Tim Hortons on the way home each day, and did a few things which I normally do in the evening. I got myself running this week, as I ran on Monday and Tuesday night, so at least I got out a couple of times. I’m feeling pretty tired which is because I always have a tough time getting in bed before midnight. Since I don’t sleep so well, I have not been getting enough sleep. As I’m typing this before I go to bed, I hope that I will get into bed by 11:00 pm tonight and fall asleep easily.

    I will need to get a good sleep tonight as I’ll be getting up super early on Friday morning. I have booked Friday and the coming Monday off from work, though I’ll be compensating those two missed days by working two Saturdays this month… the 15th and the 22nd. I have a friend From Argentina who has been traveling through the western part of the US in Washington, Oregon and California. I suggested to her that since she’ll be so close she should come and visit for a few days and get to know Vancouver as well.

    So tomorrow morning, I will have go get up super early to be downtown and catch a Greyhound bus departing from Vancouver at 7:15 am. I will arrive in Seattle at 11:35 am, and I’m hoping my Argentinian friend and I will spend the day in Seattle, and then taking a Greyhound bus back to Vancouver on Friday night. I will just take my camera and I’m guessing that we will walk around downtown Seattle for the day and just do as much as we can there before we catch the bus that leaves for Vancouver at 9:50 pm.

    We would arrive in downtown Vancouver at 2:00 am, so after sleeping, we will basically have three days together before my friend will head back to Seattle for a while longer, and eventually fly back to Argentina. While she is in Vancouver we will probably spend a lot of time downtown and maybe check out some parks and well whatever she wants to do, since she will be the special guest. I’m super excited because I have talked with her for a year and I’ve never personally met anyone from Argentina in my life, so it will be a fun few days.

    Of course with these type of planned things, there are always worries about if everything will work out perfectly or if there will be some unseen problems, but I will think positive and I hope that everything works out just perfectly. It will be amazing to meet someone from a country I’ve never met anyone from before, and having the opportunity to have 3 days to spend with a super cool person that I’ve known for a year. It will definitely be a fun weekend, and I can’t wait ! I certainly will be paying the price for taking tomorrow and the following Monday off though. I will have to work 11 out of the next 12 days after June 10, so I will be super busy.

    This will be ok though, as I had over 9 months of no work, so now that I’ve finally been working again, I certainly can’t complain about having too many days of work. While I was on the bus on Monday afternoon I was reading my emails and one of them was a comment on my last blog. I was reading the comment when I came to the realization that something was going to be happening with Xanga. I checked the Xanga main page and I got the story that everyone else get, that Xanga is on its’ last legs.

    While I admit I am pretty surprised by this news, I’m not shocked. In fact I sort of wondered about how well Xanga was doing in the past, and I kind of sensed the shipping was sinking. Like any good captain though, I didn’t let any of my thoughts of Xanga’s downfall get to me, and I’ve stuck with Xanga, despite musing in the past of maybe calling it quits after my 1000th blog post. It will be interesting to see what happens in the next month and a bit, but in all honestly, I expect it to be the end for Xanga. I believe that I’ve done my part, as I’ve been subscribing yearly to Xanga Premium, and later on Premium plus, for over seven years, so I’ve paid my fair share to support this site.

    If everyone who blogs on Xanga even donated just one dollar, that would probably be enough to keep the site going, but as easy as that sounds to do, I just don’t see the majority of Xanga users doing something like that. So I will continue posting blogs and commenting every three days as usual until the end comes, which they are saying will be on July 15. While there is certainly a chance that Xanga will be help to keep operating beyond that date, I’m certainly not going to hold my breath. So while the news that I found out on Monday was a bit sad, I think I would be at peace with it being the end if it truly is.

    I’ve devoted over eight years of my life to this site and unlike most people I can say I’ve always updated regularly, and never even missed any blog posts. Sure some people have been around longer than I have, but a lot of them had some long periods between posts, and they certainly didn’t keep up their sites all too often at times. So basically I am ready for whatever will happen, no matter what that will be. If Xanga decides it’s time to close the doors, I’ll accept that fate and just continue on with my life. I thought about maybe starting a new blog on another site, but it just wouldn’t be the same. After posting over 1000 entries, I really wouldn’t have the desire to start over, unless there was a way to move all of my blog entries to another site and just start over there.

    So basically I can say, if Xanga will be done by July 15, then so will I. I might decide to post the odd opinion piece on Facebook, but it certainly wouldn’t be an every three day thing like I was doing on Xanga… it just wouldn’t be the same. I definitely have no problem staying in touch with anyone who would like to stay in touch of me beyond Xanga’s potential demise, so there is no real problem. While it would be super strange to not post a blog after July 15 and end a streak that I’ve kept up for over 8 years, everything comes to an end eventually… that I always new.

    Of course a lot of this is just speculation. Obviously I have no idea what will happen in the next month or some, so for now it’s just continuing on until July 15 and then I suppose on the day of the 15th of July, I will have to post one last blog, but for now it’s just business as usual. Like everything, I can see positive and negatives out of this news. I would certainly have more time, and it would be nice not having to force myself to blog, but I do think having a blog has helped me a lot over the years, and I’ve got to know many cool people, so it would certainly be a bit sad knowing that it’s all ending.

    As for now, we all just have to keep going forward and posting our blogs when we want, and come July 15, we should all know what will be happening and we’ll all have to accept what happens, no matter if we like it or not. For the next question:

    Were you surprised to hear the news about Xanga possibly shutting down ? If Xanga does shut down, do you have plans to start up a new blog on another site, why or why not ?

    I wish everyone all of the best with everything. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Sunday, bye for now.

     

Comments (4)

  • I was shocked, where a lot of people saw it coming. People have said to me recently that xanga won’t last tmuch longer, but I didn’t believe it.

    The reason is because xanga is so outddated. I’m not sure how much you read; Xanga will move to a wordpress platform.

    I already made a wordpress (free) as a few others have. I’m not sure if I will want to continue to post. I feel it will be different… But xanga has helped me get through the hardest times in my life and I have grown strong friendships. Perhaps wordpress can do the same, but starting over doesn’t sound worth it.

    This still is making me very upset. I feel xanga was a big part of my life and although I have contact with close friends outside of xanga, it still is depressing.

    … On a happier note, have fun this weekend!

  • You can download all of your 1000 blog entries…..read about it on the Xanga news page…..I, too, have started a blog on WordPress…..I’m slowly learning now to navigate through it.

  • yes. i am deeply saddened by the news. can’t believe that i have to start over on a different blogging medium. just doesn’t feel right. on a more positive note, hope you had a great time with your argentinian friend.

  • I wasn’t really surprised either. A little sad, but definitely not surprised. I’m on Blogger, but that’s mainly a blog relating to my business and I would never post the private stuff I post on here.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *