May 31, 2013

  • Report # 1007

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having a great week so far. I’ve finished four days of work this week and now just today and I’ll be done my second week already, so time is flying. I still haven’t ran once during the week since I started working, but that is going to have to change, and that will change. Starting on June 1 I will get super serious with my running once again, even if it does mean I’ll have even less time than I already have. Running is just such an important part of my life and I need to get myself doing it everyday. It’s not a matter of being too lazy to do it… I love running, it’s just a matter of time ! I will squeeze it in though because I do miss it, and of course if I’m not running, my physical condition will deteriorate like a comet heading towards the earth.

    All this being said though, it was absolutely a miserable week whether wise. I didn’t take an umbrella to work once this week, and it was never really raining in the morning, but it was absolutely pouring throughout the day, and one day coming home I got totally drenched. I really don’t remember getting that soaked in my life any other day coming home from work, so I was really caught under a huge rain cloud. Fortunately from what I’ve seen, the weather will improve over the next few days, and there will finally be sun. At work I’ve got a system going where I take the biggest pile of work so I’m kept busy for the longest time possible. The first part of the day always goes by incredibly fast, though it’s that time after lunch that seems to go a bit slower.

    For the most part though, I was lucky to have found a job that is absolutely free of stress, where there is always something to do, and where everyone is super nice, so I really can’t complain. Unfortunately there have been so many people sick at work, and I’ve managed to catch a bit of a cold. It’s nothing major, certainly not like what I was going through while I was in Texas in February, but I’ve had a runny nose and a bit of a cough. I did take a Nyquil last night and I probably had my best sleep for a long time. I’m not sure what it is exactly, but I’m thinking because of so many months of going to bed around 1:00 or 2:00 am in the morning, and now trying to get to bed earlier, and forcing myself up at 7:00 am, when I was getting up at 9:00 am or 10:00 am before, my body has just had a tough time adjusting to that.

    Not helping is the fact that I’ve been drinking a large iced cappuccino everyday at around 6:00 pm… much later than the mornings I was accustomed to drinking it before. I hope I will be able to sleep better soon and not only with a Nyquil ! Hopefully when I get myself to run each day and get more used to this time I will be able to sleep better. And it would be nice if Shelby (my cat) doesn’t keep waking me up every morning wanting food ! It’s horrible to be woken up by her constant meowing day after day at sometimes 4:45 am, or 5 something. She’s fast asleep on my bed as I’m writing this now, so I really hope she will stay that way until at least 7:00 am.

    A few weeks ago my city had the Cloverdale Rodeo, which is an event that is always held over four days during the Victoria Day Long weekend each May. It’s been around for many years, and attracts people from all over, and participants in the rodeo events from all over Canada and the US trying to win their particular event. Unfortunately it also attracts some people who get themselves in the newspaper for all of the wrong reasons.

    A young woman was at the rodeo holding up a sign that said “Rodeo….. When Coward Boys Have Fun. This woman was there to protest the treatment of animals at the rodeo, which isn’t out of the ordinary, as rodeos always attract protestors like her. However this woman somehow got into a spat with another young woman, and she started recording their altercation. The video was later posted on youtube. Now the woman was the victim of many racist words and clearly what was said to her was absolutely disgusting, and 100 % unacceptable. The protestor also claims she was spat on and attacked as well, though I’m not sure to what extent all that took place.

    The police are investigating this now, and the name and the identity of the main woman involved in the attack has been revealed. For those of you interested in watching the video, it is here:

    http://www.thenownewspaper.com/story.html?id=8421437

    So first things first. The woman saying all of those horribly racist, immature, and cruel things should be absolutely ashamed of herself. She doesn’t have to agree with the protestor, but that gives her no right to get involved in a racist spat with her and spew out such trash. So if anything this woman should be charged with harassment, though the police will have to determine if there was actual violence and attacks as well, which would mean she could get charged with assault as well. So I don’t feel any sympathy for this woman, and in fact I think she acted like a total loser, and definitely should be called out on her utterly disgusting behaviour that was so filled with hate.

    What is interesting in this story however, is that the protestor who filmed this incident, had also filmed another incident that took place before at a dog park. That video is posted below on the link that I put. So this brings questions that this protestor woman is provoking certain people into getting them angry, and then starting to film then, and posting the videos online in an effort to create some sort of story out of it all. The protestor has even said that she was leading on the woman who was attacking her, and that she films these situations because she thinks its a “good idea.”

    So the protestor herself is clearly not 100 % innocent here, and I can see why people are getting upset if she’s filming her disputes with them and posting them online for the world to see. I hope after all of this passes over, she will have learned a lesson and come to realize that it’s not a “good idea” like she suggested to be filming people who are upset and trying to get them to say or do something to get themselves in trouble. If she continues to do this, I think she’ll have only more problems.

    Still though none of this gives any right to anyone to bring racism or discrimination into this, and it’s just so fortunate the woman having a problem with this protestor couldn’t express her anger in a non racist and non violent way…. she acted stupid, and wrong and now she will have to pay the price for her idiotic and disgusting behaviour. As for the protestor, well she has succeeded into getting this story into the newspaper, and having myself and so many other people talking about it, but clearly she has missed out on her main reason for being at the rodeo.

    She was there trying to bring awareness to the tough way animals are treated at the rodeo, and instead of stories about the treatment to animals at rodeos, all people are reading about is that idiotic racist lunatic lady and this protestor who just likes getting people to go crazy on video. So I think she should be sad about the fact that she was at the rodeo for the animals, but she failed in her effort to truly convey the message she wanted to convey. As for the Cloverdale rodeo it has already come and gone and I have a feeling organizers prefer if next year’s edition doesn’t have to involve this type of ridiculous story !

    For the next question:

    What do you think of someone filming certain situations between people and posting them on the internet ? Why do some people choose to bring racism into these situations ? What can be done to get people away from behaving in such a horrible way ?

    Thats all I have for today. I hope that everyone has an amazing weekend. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Monday, bye for now.

    sources: ca.news.yahoo.com. Cloverdale Rodeo ‘racist attack’ investigated. CBC News, May 21, 2013.

    thenownewspaper.com. Racist rodeo rant caught on tape wasn’t protestor’s first video spat. By: Tom Zytaruk, Surrey Now. May 22, 2013.

     

Comments (4)

  • A stress free job is a beautiful thing!
    There are 2 sides to every story. However, there is no excuse for spouting racist, ignorant things. That woman just revealed how ugly she is on the inside.

  • omg!! this Shukria thing is really evil! i’m sure she is just a liar. she isn’t an animal lover at all. an animal lover should be human lover too. she has no right to post such videos about those people. well the first woman has no right to attack her for being protesting against the rodeo as we all know that the rodeo is really cruel game, and those countries that think they are the best, they still play such barbaric games that hurt innocent creatures…. but the protester had to call the police and tell them that woman attacked her verbally and physically.without posting such childish videos. this protester is childish. and the woman that attacked her is crazy. the second video the woman was just scared from the dogs. i always go away from dogs on streets!!! and that shukria thing is always opening her silly camera to film such ridiculous scenes ??!! .. if she did that to me i would just slap her. and i’m sure she is not even vegan. or animal lover..

  • I’m loving this analogy, “my physical condition will deteriorate like a comet heading towards the earth.” Does Shelby have a bowl of food out all day long? This might prevent the early morning wake-ups.

  • i’m so not accustomed to drinking coffee during PM hours. i always try to NOT drink it pass 3pm. i don’t drink much coffee and so my body is yet to know how to process caffeine and allow me to sleep soundly.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *