May 22, 2013

  • Report # 1004

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having a great week so far. I can say without a doubt that yesterday was by far the coldest day we’ve had this May. It was pouring rain at times, and it probably only got up to 11 C (52 F), so it was just a messy day. After the super nice summer weather we had the first part of May, it just felt very chilly. I had my first day of work yesterday and I can say that it went alright. I woke up at 7:00 am, had a shower and got ready and caught the bus at the corner of the street at around 7:43 am. I arrived at work at 8:18 am, so it was perfect timing.

    When I got to work I waited for a while before one of the guys arrived and got me to sign a few forms. After a while another lady gave me a tour of the whole office and introduced me to everyone. Later on the supervisor lady started to show me what I would be doing and got me working on one of the things I would be doing in this position. Basically I had to take a pile of client documents under a certain letter, and put all of the papers into alphabetical order. Afterwards I had to file them into the drawers, and if they didn’t have a file or the right folder, I had to put some aside and look in some other places. So obviously it’s not such an interesting job, but I knew that beforehand.

    I will just show up everyday and do my best and make some money and hopefully eventually I’ll finally get the visa authorization. It’s a job I can get to by bus, and the hours are 8:30 am until 5:00 pm with an hour lunch, so I really can’t complain with that. So my goal is just to show up everyday and do my best, make some money, and be ready to go back to Mexico when I can. It’s been two weeks since I’ve heard from the lady from Teleperformance, so if I don’t here from her in the next three days, I’ll send her an email on the weekend and ask her if she ever did go to the migration office to find out what is going on with my paperwork.

    After work I stopped at Tim Hortons and then headed home and just had dinner, studied french for a bit, watched my telenovela and that was about it. Now I want to get this typed up before I go to bed as I certainly won’t feel like doing this tomorrow evening. Just as I thought I don’t have as much time as I want to do everything. I didn’t make it for a run today, though I will certainly try to make it tomorrow. I sometimes wish that each day was 30 hours long as that would give me enough time to do all the things that I want to do and have lots of time to sleep and relax as well, though that is not the case so I have to make do with the time I have.

    Monday was a decently warm and sunny day though I didn’t really do much. I ran with Parker and Molly and went for a walk in the evening. We had some tacos for dinner so that was good as well. I had pizza on Sunday night too, so lots of good food this week. That is all the more reason that I need to be running everyday, as I won’t be getting much exercise being in an office all day. So just one day of work down, and seeing as I hadn’t really worked in 9.5 months aside from the one 6.5 hour shift I did two weeks ago on the farm working with corn, I’m ready to do some more.

    Every year from June 1 to September 30, there are water restrictions in Metro Vancouver. Basically this means that people can only water their plants and lawns on certain days of the week. This policy was made to preserve water as the summer months here are a lot drier than the rest of the year, though I can say, if we are running out of water here on a regularly basis, so many other cities in the world would be in trouble. The Metro Vancouver area has some of the best drinking water in the world… one of the benefits of the extremely wet months and the melting of the snowfall in the mountains. Even though we have an abundance of water here, it still makes sense to do what we can to conserve it as it would be stupid just to waste it !

    We should all appreciate the fact that we have water, because there are many communities in the world where there is just hardly any water, and if there is, it’s clearly no good. And even in a city as rainy as Vancouver, it’s important to conserve the water that we have, as no one can ever be sure what could happen in the future with a changing climate and weather patterns. About the only people who would be happy of a water shortage would be those companies trying to fill their pockets by selling bottled water, but even they need a decent supply of water to get their bottles filled.

    So to everyone, no matter if you live in a super wet region, or a place that it hardly ever rains, you should all do your part to conserve water in any way you can as water is truly a precious resource… one that we all cannot afford to abuse. For the next question:

    Does your region ever have problems with water shortages ? Is the water in your region drinkable ? Do you ever think about water conservation ?

    Once again I’ve asked like three questions… oh well ! I wish everyone all of the best with everything. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Saturday, bye for now.

     

Comments (8)

  • I’m glad your first day of work went well. It seemed to be perfect timing for arriving to work.

    I suppose there will always be enough time to stop at Tim Hortons lol just kidding… But I can see why you missed your run. You’ll get used to your schedule sooner then you’d think. Plus your hours wrr

  • Aren’t too bad.

    I hope you hear about the visa authoriszation before the weekend and have a good rest of the week at work.

    ….. Sorry, stupid phone!!!

  • Glad the first day at work went well…I hope you enjoy the job while you have it.

    To answer your question, I do recall a few times when we were on water restrictions but it was basically not to water the lawns or not to wash your car. In our area, we are very close to Lake Michigan and we have a river right in our town…however neither one could be considered drinkable water. Taking care of our natural resources is important…very important.

  • @jennylovve - l my phone does the same thing!

    I am super happy everything is falling into place. It might not be the most entertaining job but it is a job and you are making the best out of it! Proud o you! As far as water goes, we use to live way out in the country and had well water! It tasted horrible and I was always concerned about it not being clean. On top of the horrible taste it smell like eggs! Eventually we all got use to it and it wasn’t a problem. When we moved to the city we could tell a difference in the water but it still wasn’t as good as we would like it to be. So we buy water bottles and purifiers. I would love to live near a place that had really good water. =

  • Our news people talk about us being in drought all the time, but I find that hard to believe when it rains (or at least sprinkles)every day. We have our own well, so the water at our house is very good. I don’t hear complaints about the city water either though.

  • u need more sleep dear.
    my city Casablanca, it hasn’t that problem with water shortages.
    but where my grandmother lives , they have that problem. and they waste lots of water .. i have ever heared that in winter when it rains a lot ,they get big fish playing in streets…

  • I’m glad your first work day went well. It sounds like it will be a great way to save up some money and keep pursuing your goals.

    We are careful around here with water, living in the desert. I am frustrated with people around here who just waste water. It seems like people should try to be careful and conserve what we have, considering that Phoenix is one of the driest places, but sometimes people just waste, waste, waste. Very frustrating. I don’t drink tapwater, but I do cook with it. For regular drinking water, I buy bottled.

  • water is in abundance here where i live, for we are surrounded by oceans. but the quality is not near as good as what you would have there. yeah, we really should conserve water, especially when it comes to ‘clean’ water.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *