April 16, 2013

  • Report # 992

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having an amazing weekend so far. I’m typing this up super early so I can get it posted right after midnight as I have a super busy day tomorrow. I have scheduled my job interview for the office job with the bus company this morning at 11:00 am and my brother is going to drive me there. Just before I got out of bed this morning I got a phone call for a packaging/un-packaging job (not sure exactly what that is) and I set up another interview for 3:00 pm.

    And yesterday evening, later than I would have expected as it was after 7:00 pm, I got a call for a shipping/receiving job and I have another interview set up for 11:20 am tomorrow morning. So after a month of not much activity, I’ll have three job interviews in the next two days. Two of them are in my city, so they won’t be super far, and the office job would be significantly further. While none of them would be dream jobs, they would certainly work well as temporary jobs to do while I’m waiting to see what will happen with my work visa for Mexico.

    So I have three opportunities, and I just have to get one offer, so I really want to do well in the interviews. I am thinking maybe I’ll see a movie after my second interview as I haven’t seen a movie in theatres since I left Mexico and it would be a good way to unwind after having two job interviews. The wages for all three of them are pretty low, but that’s to be expected. They are simple jobs that don’t require any formal education and/or training, and they are the type of positions that would be good for me, as I certainly wouldn’t want to find a job that would be too good to leave.

    It’s nice to have these interviews to look forward to, and until I hear any news about whether I have been chosen or not, I’ll continue applying for more jobs again tomorrow. Seeing as I’ll have to get up earlier today and I’ll be out of the house the whole day, I’m going to run the dogs this morning morning instead of in the afternoon. They’ve had runs on 16 days in a row, and I don’t want to end the streak until I really have to. So basically I’ll be waking up around 8:30 am, running the dog, coming home and having a shower and then heading out for my interviews.

    I didn’t really do much during the weekend, just ran with the dogs, continue finishing up my last Spanish book, watching Cachito de Cielo and of course having Tim Hortons everyday. So my life has been pretty boring, I definitely need to be doing something more. Just five more days until the Vancouver Sun Run, though I’ve thought a lot about what has happened at the Boston Marathon. For those of you who don’t know, a couple of bombs went off close to the end of the marathon race. Three people were killed and over 130 people were injured.

    I just can’t believe what the world is coming to anymore. People can’t even go enjoy themselves and go running without worrying about some horrific thing taking place. It’s not at all clear who planted those bombs, but whoever was involved in this is obviously an extremely sick person or people, and they need to be caught and punished ASAP. I have no sympathy for these sick cowards, and it’s senseless cold killing crimes like these where I really think the death penalty should be involved.

    Some people are probably thinking terrorists are involved, and all I can say to that is of course. Whoever did this… whether militant extremists from another country or an American citizens, they are sick people. So since there are no facts known about who did this, no one should be pointing fingers at anyone, but the truth is it doesn’t matter where the person/people who committed this heinous act are from…. they just need to be severely punished !

    And while I know in the grand scale, these sort of attacks are extremely rare, every time I read about them I really think that this world is just getting more and more dangerous all of the time. I can imagine that I do the Sun Run on Sunday myself and a number of the other nearly 50,000 runners will be thinking about these tragic events that happened in Boston yesterday. Of course people can’t live their lives in fear, as that is no way to live at all, but clearly we all have to be alert, and if anyone notices anything the slightest bit suspicious, the authorities need to be warned immediately.

    Obviously no one should get all paranoid and be going out of their way to find potential threats, but my point is we all need to exercise a degree of caution when we are out and about in public places, as certainly in some cases, it would be possible to notice something amiss. As of now I just hope that the strong team of investigators and police officers get to the bottom of what happened in Boston yesterday and that the sick coward(s) responsible for those bombs are apprehended and tried immediately.

    My thoughts are with the families who lost loved ones in the explosions, as well as with all of the people who suffered injuries as well. While unfortunately it would be impossible to stop all acts of terrorism from every occurring, clearly measures need to be put in place to make it as hard as possible for these horrific acts to be committed, and the punishments to the criminals need to be as severe as possible, hopefully discouraging people from thinking of doing something horrific.

    For the most part there haven’t been to many horrific attacks over the years, but of course even one is too many. No innocent person deserves to lose their life at the hand of a coward. So we must all continue being a little more aware when we go out places, and if something is suspected, or someone that a person knows has been acting incredibly weird or different, it’s definitely worth it to inform the police.

    While sadly it will be impossible to avoid every single tragedy and save every single life on this planet from acts of terrorism, a strong effort in doing some of the things that can be done at least will prevent some disasters and some deaths, and that is crucial. This attack shows us that there is still evil out there lurking among us, and we can’t just let our guards down and assume everything is 100 % safe, because clearly it’s not.

    If everyone does their part and is a little more aware, and the sick individuals responsible for these attacks are punished as severely as possible, I do think the likelihoods of future attacks would be a whole lot less than if nothing drastic is done. And creating a safer world and protecting the lives of innocent people is something that we should all strive for and do the small things that we can do to help with that. For the next question:

    Do you worry about an attack similar to what happened in the Boston Marathon occurring where you live ? Do you think anything can be done to prevent these sorts of tragedies from taking place ?

    That’s all I have for today. I wish everyone all of the best with everything. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Friday, bye for now.

Comments (4)

  • That’s great you got 3 interviews. Good luck! I hope they go well and you get offered a position.

    A movie afterwards would definitely be unwinding. A good relaxer after your long day. You went from seeing movies every week to none at all… Enjoy.

    The Boston incident is very unfortunate. Sick what a person (people) can do. I have no idea what goes through these people’s minds to hurt so many people. Really, you can’t be safe anywhere. Schools, movie theatres, wherever people are. Crazy and very, very sad.

  • I am so happy you got some bites. Crossing my fingers and thinking about you tomorrow. I love to go to the movies. It is so nice to be able to get out and do stuff. I am very picky about the movie I go to. I always want to make sure I see something good. So I usually wait to I hear the reviews before I go. It is really sad what happen in Boston but like you said we aren’t sure exactly who or what is behind this right now. I think we all need to stop giving the people who commit said crimes so much attention and I fully believe the appeal would go down. I feel like they are looking for 15 minutes of fame and as sad as it seems any attention is good attention. I am not too worried about something like that happening here because I am not by a really big city and where I do live it is not big enough to cause a big problem…it isn’t New York. I am sadden to think that this is just the start of these horrible acts…

  • many sick people kill other innocent people cause silly reasons….. so sad!! those people should be tortured not just killed..

  • hope the interviews went well. yeah, what happened in boston was shocking. i lived there for 6 years and so it’s like a second home to me. many memories and friends there. i still can’t comprehend WHY boston? and why marathon runners? sigh… the world is changing for the worse.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *