April 7, 2013

  • Report # 989

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all been having a fantastic weekend. For the most part it’s been soaking wet here over the past few days. Yesterday it stayed dry until the late afternoon, and it was even a bit sunny for a while, so after running the dogs I did a bit of lawn mowing. My parents are in Calgary for the week so I’ll have to do a few extra things. I’ve now been running with the dogs for exactly one week and both Molly and Parker are very used to going, and they expect to go.

    I ran one day in pouring rain and I got absolutely soaked, but the dogs want to run, they really don’t care what the weather is like. I knew last week was abnormally warm for the end of March, but fast forward a week later and it’s only been up to around 12 C (53 F) so it’s been quite a drop off. Sometimes I don’t get how it goes up or down so much and skips the more pleasant weather in between ! It’s certainly not cold for me, but just feels that way after having a week of such nice weather.

    I continued applying for more jobs, and I actually had an opportunity to go for an interview on Friday morning, but I didn’t go as it was just too far away. It’s a real shame because it would have been a super simple job that I would have liked doing temporarily, but there was just now way I could really get there. I would have had to walk 10 minutes to get to the bus stop, take a bus up almost 10 blocks, get off the bus, walk a few minutes to take another bus which would take me to a bus depot. There I would have to take a third bus which would take me somewhat close to where the job place would be.

    Unfortunately living where I do, there isn’t much for good transit, and it makes my options very limited in terms of where I’ll be able to work. I have certainly applied for closer jobs, but I haven’t heard anything back from any of them yet so it’s certainly been frustrating. Even more frustrating is dealing with the visa process. I called the foreign affairs department in Mexico City on Friday morning but the lady basically told me she can’t tell me anything over the phone, and I would have to go into the office myself to find out anything.

    I tried calling the Mexican consulate in Vancouver, but they don’t know anything, and they can only help me after the whole visa authorization process is finished. So I’ll have to write an email to the lady from Teleperformance explaining to her that I am at home now and that I’m unable to find out any information. Maybe someone from the company can call in and find out when exactly I could receive the authorization. So right now nothing is really working out too well and I’m incredibly bored and frustrated with so many things.

    I actually started playing Super Mario RPG for the Super Nintendo. Seeing as I hadn’t played it for 12 years it has been kind of cool to play it again. While I will never buy any new video games, it’s fun once in a blue moon to go back and play some of the old games that I really enjoyed so many years ago. And the games today are certainly much different than they were back in 1996 when this game came out; now they are all about fancy graphics. While the new games do look amazingly good, I think they miss certain charms from the old games.

    So over the next few days I’ll continue running with the dogs, keeping the house clean, and maybe do some more lawn mowing if it ever stops raining. Today I wanted to talk a little about the people on Xanga. Now I’m certainly not referring to anyone who comments on my blog, as everyone is great, but of some general Xanga users in general. Since I started this site over eight years ago, I’ve always enjoyed hearing from new people and reading new blogs, though I’ve certainly learned, a long time ago, that not everyone is like that.

    There are so many people on here who really couldn’t care less if there are new people commenting on their blogs, and have personalities on Xanga not much warmer than an ice cube. When Xanga had the “Meros” section a number of years ago I used to browse through different cities and places around the world and dropping by and leaving a comment on many sites. If I left 10 comments, sometimes I’d be lucky to get even more than one response.

    Very rarely I would get a comment back, and even  rarer would that person actually continue commenting. More often than not I would just get one comment, or even just a reply to a comment, and after that never hear from the person again. Now people can comment who they want, but I’ve always figured if people are out posting their material for the world to see, they’d be encouraging new people to drop by and leave a comment, and that they would enjoy doing the same thing with other people. For whatever reason, this is certainly not the case.

    I’m not sure why so many people on Xanga are such snobs, but there really is not another word I can come to describe people like that. If people seriously don’t care for other people reading their stuff, they should just type up their entries in a word document on the computer and stop posting them online. Now I’ve also had some people before who leave what I would consider pointless comments.

    I always write about something, but it’s like some people read like nothing that I write and they’ll just post something like “Awesome pictures ! Have a great weekend !” I mean if people are going to be that lazy and just write something so empty on thought and originality, I’d rather not have them post comments at all. I don’t go reading other people’s entries and leave one line comments that a 10 year old could have written better. I actually really read what people have typed up and comment on it !

    Now I realize sometimes, ok too many times, I write way too much, but the first part of my entry is just about my own life and what I have been up to. It’s more or less for me so if I want to check back one day in the future and see what I was up to at a certain point in my life I can. People can skip that part and just read the actual topic I have for the day. I mean I really don’t care if people read everything I type up or not, but at the very least, if they are going to leave a comment they should at least put in at least a few minutes effort on it.

    Some people might not like that I’m saying these things, but I just think it’s the truth and it’s important to say what one feels… a lot of people on Xanga are unfriendly snobs ! And a lot of the people who leave so called comments, put almost zero effort in doing so and I don’t get why they can be so lazy and empty on thoughts. A lot of these people have university educations, or are currently in university… they aren’t stupid, they just leave lousy comments.

    I don’t know what Xanga can do to improve the community they have on here, but they should certainly try and do something. For quite a while now I’ve just shared my blog with people who don’t even use Xanga, and they just leave me comments anyways. And if a lot of the people on Xanga choose to be walled off snobs then I might as well continue doing things that way as I don’t have to bother wasting my time with people who can’t type up any comment better than and with less thoughts and imagination than a 4th grader.

    I do want everyone to know that I very much appreciate all of the wonderful comments I do get from people here, and I do get some great ones. This entry was in no means directed to any of you, but to the Xanga community in general. If the people who run Xanga really want to keep people engaged, and encourage people to comment and connect more with one another, they should definitely come up with some new groups that allow people to do that.

    If Xanga continues the way it’s been going over the last few years, the site will get overrun by snobby self-obsessed people who have no interest in connecting with others and getting to know new people. This would be extremely unfortunate, but from what I’ve experienced over the last many years, it really won’t surprise me if things continue down this road. It’s truly disappointing, because the way Xanga is set-up, people have the chance to be much friendly and engaging, yet so many people on here would rather be snobby, cold, stuck-up and downright lazy.

    Anyways it will be interesting to see what people think of what I wrote today. I would even enjoy getting some comments back from people who severely disagree, maybe I’ll even get one or two nasty mean comments ! I actually enjoy when people disagree with me as it would be so boring if everyone just agreed. As long as people actually have an opinion and they take the time to share it, that’s all that matters.

    So hopefully somehow Xanga can improve the relationships between bloggers on here and get a real connection going that has been lacking for so many years. Honestly I don’t see this happening, but I would love to be proved wrong ! For the next question:

    What has your experience with other bloggers on Xanga been like ? Have you had the same sort of experiences with other bloggers on here as I have ? Do you think what I have talked about today has truth to it, or I really went overboard with my comments ?

    I kind of asked three questions, but oh well, I just want to hear what other people think ! I should browse some more sites to see if I can get some snobby people over here to hear their comments as well ! Anyways I wish everyone all of the best with everything. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Wednesday, bye for now.

Comments (7)

  • Browsing and commenting is an excellent way to enhance your community on Xanga — it’s not somebody else’s responsibility to make your friendships for you.  If you find a site you like, comment occasionally, and perhaps that person will visit and comment on your site.  I’ve made some wonderful friends here, some I’ve now met IRL and others not.

  • oh wow i hadn’t played Super Mario for 12 years too!! it is my favorit game!! omg i miss it soo much………

  • Running in the rain must have been different. Either way, I’m sure the dogs loved it. The weather has been bipolar here as well!

    Ugh, the visa. I can’t imagine how frustrated you are. Good luck and I hope you can get something done.

    As for xanga… I get what you’re saying. I know you read my entire posts, no matter how stupid! and you do leave real comments showing that you did. I do read your entire posts and comment as fully in return… But, I think I always admit I pass over political stories lol.

    I have a few regular commenters and I comment them as they do me. Sometimes, I get random comments from people I don’t know… From a rec or so, and I don’t usually visit their page or leave comments. I do if they friend request me.

    And lol, I’ve noticed some comments you recieve… You’re right.

  • I am trying to start running but I am not a great runner so it is taking sometime to get use to it! My husband ran ten miles this weekend! I can’t believe that he actually ran that much! I am starting to get worried about your Visa! This could turn into a horrible problem! I have many visitors but few commenters. I would rather people comment and when they do I comment back. I find it hard to build readers on my blog. They will be on here for a few months and then fall off. I am not sure people fully understand Xanga. It does take some effort to be part if a community like this. I think people are more lazy then anything!

  • I like getting comments, but it doesn’t bother me that much when I don’t. I’ll occasionally look at my “footprints” to see who has stopped by. I probably should comment more than I do, but I’d rather say nothing that leave one of the glib comments you mentioned. I don’t really like blogger poetry or short stories that much so those I never comment on. I find that I only subscribe to bloggers that I’ve had meaningful comment exchanges with anyway. Longer blogs do scare some readers way and others only want to read the blogs of people their age and/or demographic.

  • i think some people hate long blogs, most of people love to read short texts, and some people don’t care about other people lives so they don’t love to read about their daily events, and some people are just lazy to comment, and some of them don’t find some blogs as attractive blogs to read … it’s just depend on people and what they love, not on your blogs.

  • that sounds awesome. it’s been a while since the last time i got soaked from rain. i would have loved to do a run in the rain. such freedom one feels when doing so. as for xanga readers, yeah, i’ve given up thinking about what you talked about here. i think it is best to NOT EXPECT anything from anyone. one must feel neutral when posting a blog and treat it like a diary. xanga is a place for those who want to express themselves in writing. it does not matter if not many people will read them. one should just post for oneself. if it turns out that there are those who like what you post, then that’s great. if not, that’s ok. so when you get people who like to comment on your posts, feel blessed. especially when one comments often, short or long. that’s a great recipe for developing friendships. and one must understand that NOT all people have a lot to say. sometimes what we post may not be something that is relatable to those who read it. my rule of thumb is just be glad someone willing to take the time to leave a comment on any one of my posts, even if it’s just a word or two.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *