April 1, 2013

  • Report # 987

    Hey everyone, I hope that you’ve all had a wonderful Easter weekend. I’ve ate quite well over the last few days as there have been some very good meals. My mom made Shepperd’s Pie one night and last night we had hamburgers at home. On Saturday I went to my grandmother’s house and we went to Vera’s Burger Shack to have lunch. I enjoyed the burger I had, but my grandmother was not impressed, saying that the place would never be seeing her again.

    My grandmother can be hard to please sometimes, but she said that the chicken burger she had was cold, and the place was super expensive…. though I don’t think it would have cost anymore in another type of restaurant. My grandmother was expecting a fast food priced burger, but it was more of a gourmet type burger place, though it was just one of those places that just couldn’t impress her. Afterwards we went to Extra Foods and bought a few groceries and then I headed over to her house to help her make some Easter Eggs.

    We boiled 24 eggs and coloured them green, blue, yellow and red. Now there are only about five of them left, so they are getting eaten pretty quickly. There wasn’t any Easter chocolates this year, but that’s certainly not surprising as I haven’t been on an Easter Egg hunt since I was 17….. and even that’s a little old to be looking for Easter Eggs and chocolates. Every year when my brother and I were kids, my grandmother would hide Easter Eggs in her backyard, and inside the house if it was a rainy Easter.

    We both had Easter baskets, and aside from Halloween it was probably the time of the year we got more chocolate than any other day. I would always eat too much of it, so it didn’t last too long, but most kids probably act like that with chocolate. For many of those years we would have a big dinner at my grandmother’s house, though the last few years we haven’t had an Easter dinner really.

    The hamburgers yesterday were delicious, and today my grandmother is coming over to make a chicken dish, so I’ve certainly enjoyed good food this year, though we haven’t actually had a formal Easter dinner at the dining room table for at least a few years. The last couple of years I’ve been thinking about how so many families with kids just use Easter as a time to paint Easter eggs and hide chocolates, telling the kids that the Easter bunny did so. (Just another one of those lies that parents tell !)

    I certainly didn’t believe in the Easter Bunny like I did in Santa Claus….. for some reason I thought it was much more plausible that there would be a a man in a red suit who flies around the world in a sleigh pulled by reindeer than a giant bunny that goes to people’s houses and hides Easter Eggs and chocolates ! And while it’s great that so many kids can enjoy these fun activities growing up, I do think it’s important that people know exactly what Easter is about, so from Wikipedia:

    Easter is a Christian festival and holiday celebrating the resurrection of Jesus Christ on the third day after his crucifixion at Calvary as described in the New Testament. Easter is the culmination of the Passion of Christ, preceded by Lent,  a forty-day period of fasting, prayer, and penance. (repenting sins)

    The last week of Lent is called Holy Week, and it contains the days of the Easter Triduum, including Maundy Thursday (Holy Thursday) commemorating the Last supper and its preceding foot washing, as well as Good Friday. commemorating the crucifixion and death of Jesus. Easter is follwed by a fifty-day period called Eastertide, or the Easter Season, ending with Pentecoast Sunday.

    (sources: Wikipedia: Easter)

    And some people may wonder when Easter is every year, as it’s always on a completely different weekend in March or April:

    Easter is a moveable feast, meaning it is not fixed in relation to the civil calendar. The First council of Nicaea established the date of Easter as the first Sunday after the full moon (the Paschal Full Moon) following the March equinox. Ecclesiastically, the equinox is reckoned to be on 21 March (even though the equinox occurs, astronomically speaking, on 20 March in most years), and the “Full Moon” is not necessarily the atronomically correct date.

    The date of Easter therefor varies between 22 March and 25 April. Eastern Christianity bases its calculations on the Julian Calendar, whose 21 March corresponds, during the 21st century, to 3 April in the Gregorian calendar, in which the celebration of Easter therefore varies 4 April and 8 May.

    (sources, Wikipedia: Easter, date)

    And of course Easter would be celebrated a little differently in many regions of the world, but if anyone is really that interested in how it’s celebrated all over the world they can do their own research ! Now I don’t associate myself with any specific religion, but I just think it’s important to know about these celebrations and how they came to be. I think it’s great that people are able to celebrate them in religious and non-religious ways and like Christmas and many other special days from certain religions, these events can truly be enjoyed by many people regardless of religious affiliation.

    I’ve continued my daily runs to Tim Hortons, though yesterday I got extra exercise as I took Molly for a good long walk, and then ran with Parker. They were both super happy as they hadn’t gotten such good exercise in a long time. Since my brother got injured at work he hasn’t been able to go out with the dogs, so it was their first day of getting a great workout in months. Molly ran for a bit and she did very well, though she was definitely exhausted after. Parker dragged me up the first hill, but he tired after a while and heading back he was definitely slower.

    I enjoyed taking them and they really got me great workouts, so I think I will try and take them regularly over the next few weeks as they can be great Sun Run preparation dogs ! Seeing as some places aren’t working yet today I’ll wait until tomorrow afternoon before I start applying for more jobs. I’ve already applied for like 33 positions, so it would be nice if I started hearing a little more news this week.

    The weather has been absolutely phenomenal here over the past week, and the last three days especially. Yesterday got up to around 20 C (68 F) and I actually sat outside by the pool and while of course I didn’t swim yet, I suntanned for a good hour… my face got a little read. Today is going to be about as warm, so I might do a little tanning today as well, especially seeing as it’s looking like it will be a rainy week for the most part.

    So that’s all the news I have for today, for the next question:

    Do you do anything for Easter ? What significance does Easter have for you ? If not what is a celebration that has special meaning for you ?

    I hope that everyone has a fantastic start to the week. Take care and I’ll talk to you all on Thursday, bye for now.

Comments (6)

  • Easter is my favorite holiday! I love it because everything comes to life at Easter after a long winter. All kinds of pretty colors and flowers to to bloom! I look forward to it every year!

  • unfortunately, i don’t celebrate any religious celebration or celebration that has a traditional background … i have no special celebration even if it is religious or not religious. i only love the day of my birthday.

  • About 2000 years ago, on that Thursday Jesus sat down for his last meal with his closest friends. One turned on him that night (Matthew 26:14-16, 25). Another claimed he would die with Jesus, only to deny he even knew him in the next few hours (Matthew 26:31-35). That Thursday night and into Friday morning, Jesus was betrayed, arrested, denied, endured trials, and sentenced to death (Matthew 26:47-27:26). Friday he was mocked, tortured, and crucified (Matthew 27:27-44). Matthew 27:50 tells us that he “gave up His Spirit”. For every flawed person who would ever walk the earth. Especially you. You who grew up in church. You who have never been to church. You who sit in the pew every week. You who mock the very One who created you. You, the imperfect one.

    Thursday we had Maundy Thursday service at Church. Saturday we had an egg hunt at church for the kids and Sunday was church and lunch with my mom’s family like every other Easter. but this Easter was the first Easter with out my mom’s mom and was 7 mths exactly since she went to heaven. and it was nice to know that she was having her real first Easter with Jesus.

  • Easter really isn’t anything for me. The last time I remember celebrating anything easter-related, I was 5 years old and searching for plastic eggs containing quarters. lol. I’m not religious so I definitely don’t believe in the Jesus resurrection thing. I don’t think Easter even originated from Christianity. You kind of touched on it in your blog entry, but I think it’s more pagan in it’s roots and came about due to celebrations of Spring equinox. Bunny rabbits are said to be leftovers from the pagan festival of the goddess Eostre (spelling?), who was a northern goddess whose symbol was a rabbit/hare. I haven’t researched it thoroughly but I guess it all really boils down to your own personal beliefs. I’m not gonna rain on anyone’s parade for believing/celebrating as they please. But that’s all Easter really is to me. A fun little holiday for the kiddies that just so happen to be pagan in origin. I do indulge in chocolate eggs from time to time. :)

  • Home cooking is wonderful. Great you got to enjoy various meals.

    Easter egg hunts are fun, though I’ve only gone once. When I was a bit younger than 17 lol

    That’s funny and true what you said about Santa and the Easter Bunny! Actually made me laugh.

    I never understood why and how Easter falls on a different day. Wikipedia can tell you a lot.

    I have a little yorkshire terrier named Oliver. He’s a yorkshire silky mix, so he isn’t so tiny. Still small, but can even tire me out for walks. He’s a hyper little thing and basically walks me.

    Good luck with the job search. I hope you hear back!

  • i don’t celebrate easter. i never get the connection between christianity and chocolate eggs. i figured it’s a brain-wash attempt by candy companies to cash in on a religious holiday. sad.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *