February 9, 2013

  • Report # 970

    So this will be my last entry here from Monterrey for a while. My internet connection wasn’t working this afternoon and I wanted to get this typed up so I just decided to walk up to Starbucks and get this done. On Wednesday afternoon I booked my ticket to go to San Antonio. Even though there were still a few days that I could have received news regarding my visa authorization, I new that the flight I wanted wasn’t going to be there forever and I had to get it at the price it was at while I had the chance.

    I paid 182 dollars for a round-trip Monterrey to San Antonio flight and I will head to San Antonio on Monday the 11th and come back on Monday the 18th. Seeing as I’ve never really had a chance to explore Texas I will try and spend a few days in Dallas and Houston as well. In fact I will try and take a Greyhound Bus to Dallas shortly after arriving into San Antonio as I will have a friend to visit there who will just be there for one day.

    So basically my plan with all this is to exit Mexico before my 180 days are up and spend a week in Texas and then fly back to Mexico and continue to wait for the visa authorization, flying back to Vancouver immediately when I have it. I am looking forward to exploring some new places that I’ve never been before, but I am really hoping that I get some more news soon as I am more than ready to begin working… six months of vacation is too much !

    On Wednesday I went for a run in the afternoon and afterwards came home and had a shower and walked up to Galerias and had lunch in the food court before walking over to the other mall, Plaza Real, and having a frappuichino from the Italian Coffee Company. In the evening I had a craving for some tacos so I picked up two of those from the local taco place and that was about it. I ran again on Thursday morning and decided to head to the Planetarium.

    I looked up the bus routes online and found a bus that goes directly to the Planetarium, but after waiting and waiting, it just didn’t come. I wasn’t going to wait forever so I just took another bus and walked for about 45 minutes after and made it there. It was so hot this week as the days were around 30 C (86 F) and I definitely felt the hot sun. I purchased a ticket to see a movie about life in the Arctic, but it didn’t start until 4:00, so I had over an hour to explore the Planetarium.

    The first floor had all of this cool science stuff, while the second floor was a temporary display with Alice and Wonderland themed things…. it was definitely more for kids. The third floor was all about the human body and how it functions and what makes everyone unique, and the forth floor was closed for setting up the next display. The fifth floor was some Mexican history exhibition, but I didn’t have time to see that as the movie was going to start.

    It was a 40 minute IMAX movie about the animals who live in the Arctic, their lives, and how they’ve been affected by climate change. Normally I’d say that everyone is entitled to their opinion, but seriously, the people who think climate change is 100 % false are just completely blind and they are just choosing to be ignorant to what is a major global issue. Some people just need to open their eyes and enlighten themselves a little more.

    The movie was voiced by Meryl Streep, well the original in English, but I saw it in Spanish so someone else did the voicing. Then again I never would have known Meryl Streep did the voicing if it didn’t actually say her name; it’s not like I’m an expert on how everyone sounds ! After the movie I headed out and walked back the way I came and had a Tilapia dinner at IHOP before picking up a Blizzard at DQ in San Agustin and heading home.

    I had ran and walked a lot that day and I was pretty exhausted by the time I got back home a little after 7:00 pm. I ran on Friday morning and came home and had a shower and walked to Cinépolis after to see Flight, a great Denzel Washington movie where he plays a pilot who miraculously landed a doomed plane saving almost everyone on board, though with his drinking problem, a whole story is made out of the movie….. very great film !

    I had lunch and read the paper at Wok, having some miso soup and sushi before walking home. Friday was actually the one break from the heat, as the city actually got a decent rain and it was only around 20 C (68 F) Today it’s back up to 25 C (77 F) and from what I’ve seen tomorrow is going to be another hot day. It will be a bit cooler in Texas, especially in Dallas, so I’ll get to cool down for a week. I can’t complain about this heat though, I’m still able to go for my run everyday and it’s not all humid and sticky so it’s been decent.

    I was cleaning up my place this morning so it’s all clean and tidy before I leave and I went for a run and came home and had a shower and saw that my internet wasn’t working so that’s why I’m at Starbucks. I’ve already downed a Venti mocha frappuichino and they definitely aren’t great for thirst ! At least I finally had some fruit as I ate a whole cup of Grapefruit, and I really needed that.

    So in this next day I’m just going to take it easy and look up things to do in San Antonio, Dallas, and Houston and I’ll be heading out on Monday afternoon. Now I just want to go back to the Artic movie I saw for a bit:

    Arcticfoto 

    The movie was incredible with the scenery and the story about how these animals live in the arctic and how it really is there home. A vast portion of the Arctic lies in the Northern part of Canada and sadly if I was to guess, I’d say far less than 10 % of Canadians have ever been… myself included. The movie definitely showed the true beauty of the Arctic paradise and really showed the challenges the animals who live there face in their land, greatly affected by climate change. Polar Bears were the main stars of the film and they are such fascinating animals.

    Luckily there are companies and organizations such as the WWF and Coca Cola who have given money to help protect the Polar Bear, and even have included them on their cans at times. It was funny reading that some people had thought the Polar Bear edition cans were diet coke and it created some problems with customers, but a lot of money was raised to help the Polar Bears so I think that’s wonderful.

    Of course Polar Bears are only one of the types of animals living in the arctic as there are seals (which Polar Bears love to eat) Walruses, Caribou and a variety of birds. And all of these animals should be treated equally and given the chances to thrive. While some people may not care so much about these animals that live so far away from the majority of the people in the world, I think at the end of the day we all have to understand we live on this one planet and all the animals no matter where they live should be a priority to be protected.

    I’d love to go to the Arctic one day to see all of these amazing animals and enjoy the Northern Lights and take part in this paradise, and while I definitely have no plans of going anytime soon, it would be a super special adventure to take one day. Anyways, for the next question:

    Is the protection of animals around the world something that is important to you, why or why not ? What are your thoughts on climate change ?

    I hope that everyone has an awesome weekend. Take care and I’ll talk to you all from Dallas on Tuesday, bye for now.

    sources: Daily mail.co.uk Coca-Cola ditches holiday-special snow white can and brings back red again after frosty reception by customers mistaking it for Diet Coke. By Daily Mail reporter. December 2, 2011.


Comments (4)

  • I have never had to fly, but that seems pretty cheap for a round trip flight! Some relatives of mine moved to Texas and they say it’s nice. Enjoy your time there with that friend.

     

    Waiting for the bus that was supposed to go straight to the planetarium must have been frustrating. Even more frustrating that after you waited for nothing, you had to take a 45 minute walk in the heat. You always get exercise.. A lot of it.. With whatever you’re doing.

     

    Hope you have a safe trip!

  • Hey. Got your name id from Erin. the one who writes amazing short stories. thought i’d check you out. b/c i havent seen many or any males period who blog so i found it interested to see one comment on one of my blog friends.

    i added you. :D

    but will have to add you to my protected list once you add me so you can my post.

    hope your trip is good and you have a safe trip there and back.

    p.s. a 6 mth vacation due to no work is better than a 2 yr vacation. with 1 yr being in college. and still not finish.

  • Have a safe trip! To answer your question, I do believe that protecting the animals is important. However, I do not believe that it should be put above and beyond the protection of any human being on this Earth. There is a fine line and some have it blurred. As for climate control, I believe this is Earth and the climate has changed before and will change again. It is not anything that we won’t or shouldn’t be able to adjust too.

  • All beings tremble before violence. All fear death. All love life.~-Buddha

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *